dot's page

clocks

do you ever think we've overengineered clocks ? a simple machine, meant to show time, but we want it to do everything, wake us when we want, tell us the day and date, sometimes weather, and sometimes, even voice assistance. my mum asked today, whether i wanted a bigger, digital clock for my room, and when i said no, she said, why don't you want better things ? i couldn't really answer her in that moment, so i just smiled and left, but now that i think about it.. it's probably because my small desk clock, with it's constant clicks, and small neon "glow in the dark" hands, are all i need from a clock.
my mum, dad and sister have recently started using instagram and they asked me why i don't have an account there. i gave them the simple, "privacy, ads and notifications" answer, but to be honest, it's probably because i don't want one.
i want my phone to get my texts, play songs, and click pictures; and i want my laptop to let me code, read and learn. that's all i really need;
and it's enough.. like my desk clock.